Drawing Flowers

Image

Nymphaea – Lotus flower

nepenthes - pitcher plant

nepenthes – pitcher plant

To outline or not to outline, that, my moofs, is the question.

I’m not sure about these sketches. I tried to experiment and go for a bolder outline, hoping for that ties-the-room-together look… [Also tried to draw some plants I like, but that's another story...]

Whenever I see other people use precise black outline in their drawings, it looks great to me. Whenever I use it, I think it looks… mmmm. Stiff? Kind of dead?

Like I just want to get out a very sharp little pencil and make lines all over everything…. Contrast with this:

Image

Portrait of Death as a young man

This style here… this feels natural to me. There’s a lot of fucked up little lines and smudges everywhere… it’s not super precise. I like that–I think it can be a nice way to draw. However! Dammit, sometimes I’d like to draw the other way, the really nice everything is precise and where it should be way.

Mmm >< (::growl of discontent::)

14 responses to “Drawing Flowers

  1. compelling…I love these…the smudges are just perfect.

    • Thank you so much <3 I appreciate it.
      Now I just have to figure out how to make a drawing look kind of interesting WITHOUT any smudges…
      How do people do it?!?

  2. I rather prefer drawing no.2 . It looks very graphic. I think it works.
    But it also looks incomplete. it needs either blocks of colour or fill. and maybe to offset it as a whole, small parts with more detailing. (e.g the hair/ the flowers)

    • It has occurred to me that more areas of color are needed. On the hair and/or the face, yes, filled in. I hate that feeling when a drawing feels incomplete. In my experience, I keep trying to ‘fill’ it, until I fuck it up a different way–i.e, it becomes over-crowded, I’ve wasted even more time, and it’s still not ‘done’.
      ::sigh::
      I might jump ship and start over.
      Thanks for the suggestion ^^

      • Hmmm it can’t be a waste of time if you learn something. Don’t jump ship yet because it sounds like the fear of a fuck up will make you leave all drawings incomplete. You can even fill in monochrome or more detailed lines. It doesn’t have to be a colour. Just ‘finish’ it (in your head)

    • I didn’t abandon ship! I pushed through to the end…! I think improvement has been made… thanks for your help, Tin Roof! =)

  3. These are all emotion-filled and gorgeous drawings, Moofie. I do like the smudgy imperfection also, and your well placed highlights that bring out the dimension.
    And do I need to say anything about those pitcher plants…?!!
    I just photographed some in Cape Breton.

  4. I love both styles of drawing. And both styles are unmistakeably yours. I guess however the spirit moves you is what will come out on the page. Don’t sweat it ;)

  5. Your outlines are beauteous! I love the pitcher plants, so so sexy! Don’t sweat the outlines though, I would suggest that you try experimenting using a brush and ink for the outlines to give them more of a flowing feel which would fit with your style, the differentiation between thick and thin strokes would work nicely and be less stiff (as you say). I only stumbled into outlines because my acrylic painting technique was so dreadful at the start I needed a crutch to get me through… your drawings are beautiful and you don’t *need* them, but I’m digging the look. Thanks for using me as an example!

    • Fieldley, you are the queen of cool outlines! I will try with ink… my problem with ink is that I have a VERY unsteady hand so I tend to give myself a heart-attack in the effort to not fuck up ~_~ I just have to embrace the fucking up, ahaha. But ink was the ‘first’ medium I really used… until recently, I rarely kept a drawing as only pencil…
      Anyway, thanks for the tip and the encouragement and good drawing to you!!!

  6. The Queen! Oh my! Hahaha… thanks Moof, I will wear my royal crown with pride. Oh yeah, of course you used ink for the graphic novel no? Well, since you are already great at it you should be fine! You probably already know that the secret to great outlining is to be super super confident in your approach and to also be very familiar with your subject. Be loose lady, have fun and let go of the fear.

  7. Amazing sketches. You are way too critical :)

Leave a Reply

